MSE Header Logo

MSE Advisory Board Members

The Mission of the Advisory Board is to provide advice, assessment, and assistance to the Chair and the Faculty of the MSE Department on its programs, strategic plans, research, and outreach efforts. Visionary ideas of the Advisory Board will help position the Department to:

  • Maintain its materials science technology excellence and leadership;
  • Continue to provide industry and academia with exceptional graduates; and
  • Conduct outstanding research essential to advancing the state of the art of the profession.

The Board consists of individuals who have a distinguished career in the Materials Science and Engineering profession. Board members are drawn from leaders in academia, industry, and national labs.

Name Title Organization
Dr. Bruce Aitken Research Fellow Corning Glass Works, New York
Dr. James Deyoreo Chief Scientist Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Washington
Professor Fiona Doyle Dean of the Graduate Division University of California, Berkeley
Dr. Valerie Gibson Principal Engineer Aerojet-Rocketdyne, Sacramento
Dr. Katheryn B. Helean Senior Technical Manager, Materials Engineering and Manufacturing Sandia National Laboratory, Albuquerque
Professor Jorg Loffler Head of Institute of Metals Research ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Professor Gary Messing Distinguished Professor of Ceramic Science and Engineering Pennsylvania State University