Materials Science and Engineering Board of Advisors

The Board of Advisors is a distinguished group of industry and academic leaders that serves a key advisory role to the department chair, sharing ideas and supporting the goals set forth by the department’s faculty and staff. These members provide volunteer leadership on matters of curriculum content, research areas, industry trends, student success and professional development, alumni engagement and fund-raising. In return, members will have regular opportunities to network with each other, meet with faculty and students, and contribute their time and ideas to strengthen the department, college and university.

The Board of Advisors is comprised of individuals representing industry, government and academia with strong interests and/or expertise in materials science and engineering. The membership is diverse in terms of gender and ethnic background, alumni status, geographic location, and functional specialization of research or industry.

Robert Cobene

Senior Project Engineer
Corning Technology Center, Silicon Valley

Dr. James De Yoreo

Chief Scientist
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Washington

Dr. Oscar Dubon

Department of Materials Science and Engineering, UC Berkeley, Bay Area

Tim Dyer

Elcon Precision LLC, Bay Area

Dr. Valerie Gibson

Principal Propulsion Engineer
Blue Origin, Washington

Dr. Katheryn B. Helean

Senior Technical Manager, Materials Engineering and Manufacturing
Sandia National Laboratory, Albuquerque

Leyla Hashemi

R&D Engineering Manager
Keysight Technologies, Santa Rosa

Dr. Melbs LeMieux

Co-Founder and President
Electronincks Incorporated, Austin

Dr. Susan Sinnott

Professor and Department Head
Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Pennsylvania State University, Pennsylvania

Jack Yao

President and Chief Financial Officer
Applied Engineering, Silicon Valley