MSE Header Logo

Endowed Professorships and Chairs

Endowed professorships and chairs are both an important way to help faculty research groups to flourish and a mark of profound generosity from donors to the Department of Materials Science & Engineering.

An endowed professorship is established by a donor making a significant gift (>$500,000) to the department; an endowed chair requires a gift of $1,000,000. The principal is held in perpetuity while the interest is used to fund the endowed professorship or chair. All the endowed professorships and chairs in MSE are “term appointments,” i.e., the appointments are not permanent but are held for three to five-year terms by the professor who best matches the donor’s criteria. Here is some information about the current MSE faculty endowments.

Blacutt-Underwood Professorship in Materials Science

This endowed professorship was created by a generous gift from Brian Underwood and Carol Blacutt-Underwood. Brian is an alumnus of CHMS, the former combined department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, holding an M.S. degree awarded in 1991. The Blacutt-Underwood Professorship is filled by an individual who exhibits excellence as a professor of Materials Science. In 2009, the Department was pleased to announce Professor Subhash Risbud as the first holder of this position, which is for five years. Funds from the endowment are awarded annually for use by the selected faculty for teaching, research, or outreach. We thank Brian and Carol for their generous support of MSE.

Class Photos and Rosters